Well hey there! It’s been longer than I would have liked since my last post, someone has been hogging the computer ahem, husband. Also, Gimli just had to have emergency surgery in the very early morning yesterday so that took my head out of any potential blogging until now when I am forcing myself to spend at least a little time updating and organizing my thoughts.

Most of my life I have felt like asking for help showed that I was somehow weak. That idea is a little funny if you remember that I went to college first to be an Addictions Counsellor. I felt like needing help meant you were past the point of no return. I had it in my mind that things aren’t that bad if I can handle them alone. I did this both with my mental health and my physical health for far too long. It took me until I was in my mid 20’s to say hey, I need help and there is nothing wrong with that.

So let’s talk about the help I’m now getting to not only fight off my binge eating habits and prevent further disordered eating but to also create healthy habits. I also to have encouragement and accountability with someone who wants to see me succeed and can give me educated and honest answers to my questions or issues when they come up. On top of all of that, I am lucky to consider her a friend I can talk to not just about food and my physical health.

As a personal trainer, ish, I think that I had it in my head that if I couldn’t control my own eating and exercise regime I wasn’t going to do well with others. In reality I am fine telling others what to do and how to live their lives and work on their self-love and then forget to implement healthy approaches in my own life especially when things get hard. I eat when I’m stressed, when i am emotional in any capacity really. I over eat in most scenarios and I work out more out of guilt than enjoyment and to better my health. My schedule is not ideal to maintain my mental health or physical health, it really isn’t anything other than sporadic.

Now, I am under the guidance of a health and wellness coach. Kailee helps me plan my food, plan my level of activity, work on stress eating, get to the root of emotional eating and so many other things but most importantly she helps me create a maintainable lifestyle for the future. In all honesty she is everything I want to be in a fitness professional some day. The support and encouragement she has given me since we started is immeasurable. I won’t give a complete rundown on the services she gives me because she deserves to be paid for that information but let me tell you that every cent is worth it. I feel like a better version of my self every day following the plans we have made together for me.

I encourage anyone who is struggling with something in their life to reach out to a professional or at least a somewhat educated friend for guidance. I have been glad to gone to therapy in the past, I am glad to be getting help now and with how many people I know who could really use help I encourage those who might still think the way I did to change how you view things. It takes strength and valuing yourself to ask for help in any area of your life and even if you fear looking weak, you will come out the other side feeling empowered and more knowledgeable because of it. I know I feel like I can help people in a better capacity the more I work with my coach and I think we can all benefit from learning more about ourselves while healing.

So go ahead, throw in the towel on struggling to fix all your problems alone, accept help and encourage yourself to let help improve your quality of life however that may look to you.

{If you would like to contact Kailee here is the link to her website}

 

Happy Healing!

 

 

 

